Written in March 2016 for a class assignment about writing speeches.

I bet you don’t even remember talking to me, and if you ran into me it wouldn’t even phase you, but I remember our encounter so well. When I was 16, you told me I didn’t know anything about sports because I’m a girl. You told me I’m not a real fan because I only care about the hot players. You tried to undermine me by asking me the most obscure questions to prove my knowledge. When I was 16, you really made me angry, but now, 5 years later, I’d like to say thank you. If it weren’t for your sexist accusations, I probably wouldn’t be where I am today. The anger I felt from your comments inspired many essays and research papers. In a way, you even inspired me to work in sports because I want to prove to people like you that sexism has no place in sports, or anywhere for that matter. So thank you for helping me realize what I am really passionate about, and for helping me realize that I want to spend my life proving people like you wrong. I hope one day you recognize me and see what I’m doing, and see that I actually know what I’m talking about, and that it has nothing to do with gender. I hope that one day my story inspires girls like me to ignore ignorant comments like yours.

Leave a Reply

